And the day came when the risk to remain tight in the bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.

~Anais Nin








When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.

 ~ Helen Keller





Call for free consultation 970-622-0858

Welcome to PATHS 4 CHANGE

Change is a constant in life. Some changes occur through conscious choice; others offer unexpected challenges. How you deal with change determines, to a large extent, the amount of happiness you experience. Sometimes it helps to participate in meditative experiences to search for answers within ourselves. Walking labyrinths offers opportunities for meditation through movement.

Chartres Design Labyrinth DiagramLabyrinths

Life is a journey with twists and turns leading toward the sacred center within the self and back into the world. A labyrinth is an archetypal symbol representing this divine excursion; a tool for inspiration, meditation, and prayer. It offers opportunities for personal, psychological and spiritual transformation.

There are no “labyrinth rules” and each experience is different, regardless of the number of times a person walks. Some spiritual seekers think of the labyrinth as a three-fold mystical path. Walking from the edge to the center provides a time of release – letting go, forgiving, forgetting, clearing the mind. While standing or sitting in the center, they feel a sense of gratitude, peace, and love. This opens the mind and spirit to receive blessings as the body walks back to the edge and prepares to reconnect with the outside world. The three stages of the walk are sometimes summarized as: Release, Receive, Return.

Some people choose to enter the labyrinth with guiding thoughts or specific questions. Others simply remain open, ready to accept whatever emerges. The walk offers a context for hearing the still, small voice within. All labyrinths are sacred spaces; each walk is unique.

The unicursal path winds and loops as it leads to the center and back out again. Unlike mazes, there are no dead ends in labyrinths, so the walk is safe and unobstructed. Most labyrinths are circular in shape with two patterns predominating.

The Classical Design (also called the Cretan Design) consists of seven circuits. This is the oldest pattern dating back over 4000 years and is thought to be the design in the Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur.

The Medieval Design (also known as the Chartres Design) has eleven circuits. Labyrinths of this pattern appeared in many churches in the Middle Ages. The only one to have survived to present times is the labyrinth in Chartres Cathedral in France.

Labyrinths are currently being constructed and used throughout the world. They can be found on church grounds, in public parks, near hospice facilities, and at private residences. Labyrinth sites can be found using the Labyrinth Locator which is jointly sponsored by Veriditas and The Labyrinth Society.


Call Phyllis to schedule a Labyrinth Walk or get more information: 970-622-0858.


Call for free consultation 970-622-0858

PATHS 4 CHANGE  •  Phyllis K. Kennemer, ED.D.  •  970-622-0858